Benefits Administration Tools for US HR Teams: What Rippling, ADP, TriNet and Employee Navigator Publish
Benefits administration software for US HR teams compared: what Rippling, ADP, TriNet and Employee Navigator publish on features and price, as of October 2026.
For 2026, the ACA treats employee coverage as affordable if the self-only contribution is no more than 9.96% of household income, up from 9.02% in 2025. That single number is one reason HR teams revisit their benefits administration software each year. This guide compares four vendors on what each one publishes as of 13 October 2026: Rippling, ADP, TriNet and Employee Navigator.
One limit up front: no public dataset shows which tools US HR teams are moving to. This is a comparison of published features, delivery models and pricing, not a market-share ranking. Every feature claim below is the vendor's own.
What does benefits administration software actually do?
It manages who is eligible for which plan, runs open enrollment and life-event changes, and passes the resulting elections to carriers and payroll. Compliance tasks such as COBRA and ACA reporting usually sit in the same system.
Rippling lists flex benefits (HSA, FSA, commuter), COBRA, ACA tracking and filings, and open enrollment tracking on its benefits page. ADP lists open enrollment, life events from mobile or web, dependent verification, and total rewards statements. The core checklist is similar across vendors. The differences are in who does the work and how the tool connects to payroll and carriers.
How do Rippling, ADP, TriNet and Employee Navigator compare?
They split into three models: a platform bundled with HR and payroll (Rippling), software plus services (ADP, TriNet), and a broker-led platform (Employee Navigator).
| Rippling | ADP | TriNet | Employee Navigator | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Model | Software on a single HR, payroll and benefits platform | Software, with optional comprehensive services | PEO or HR Plus (software) | Platform sold through brokers |
| Who it targets (per vendor) | Not stated on benefits page | Not stated on benefits page | PEO: 5 to 500 employees; HR Plus: 1 to 500 | Brokers and their client employers |
| Carrier connectivity (vendor claim) | Matches uploaded carrier EOI files to employees; no carrier count published | "More than 900" carriers, financial institutions and other organizations | Not stated | "600+ partners" |
| ACA tracking or filing | Yes, listed | Yes, listed under ADP Comprehensive Services | ACA and COBRA support, listed | ACA reporting, listed on Enhanced plan |
| Published price | None | None | PEPM, no dollar figure | Contact Sales; $0.45 PEPM for 834 EDI on two tiers |
Sources: Rippling, ADP, TriNet, Employee Navigator. Table reflects vendor pages as of 13 October 2026.
Which tool fits a team that wants benefits inside its HR and payroll platform?
Rippling is built for that. It says it pairs with any benefits strategy, whether Rippling PEO, its in-house brokerage, or a third-party broker, so a team can keep an existing broker.
The trade-off is stated on the same page: Rippling does not work with other HR systems. A team that wants Rippling for benefits but a different HRIS for core records should confirm what that means in practice. Rippling also describes renewals as taking 5-10 minutes for a quick renewal and 30-45 minutes for a standard one, which is a company claim, not an independent measurement. For a wider look at HRMS choices at a 50-person company, see BambooHR vs HiBob vs Rippling.
Which tool fits a team that wants a vendor to handle carrier work?
ADP is the closest fit. It says it works with more than 900 insurance carriers, financial institutions and other organizations, with direct integrations that include Aetna, Cigna, UnitedHealthcare and MetLife. Its page also describes dependent verification and decision support for employees.
ADP says it was named a Leader in NelsonHall's 2026 NEAT Evaluation for Benefits Administration, and its page describes ADP Comprehensive Services as covering open enrollment, ACA filing and compliance. Both are the company's own statements. Pricing is not published: the page offers "Get Pricing" and "Request a Demo" buttons. If you already run payroll on ADP, what each payroll vendor publishes on cost is a useful companion read.
Should a small employer use a PEO or just software?
It depends on who you want as plan sponsor. In TriNet's PEO, TriNet is the single-employer plan sponsor, and the PEO is for 5 to 500 employees. In HR Plus, for 1 to 500 employees, the employer sponsors its own plans on TriNet technology.
TriNet's pricing language differs by model. For HR Plus, benefits administration technology is included in the per employee per month (PEPM) subscription. For the PEO, technology and services are in the PEPM, while "benefits and certain benefits-related tools are priced separately." No dollar figures are published.
TriNet also promotes a Forrester Total Economic Impact study that it commissioned, citing a 12% reduction in benefit costs against prior independently sourced plans and $185,000 in benefits savings over three years. Treat that as a vendor-commissioned result. Your savings depend on your census, carriers and prior plans.
What does Employee Navigator publish, and who is it for?
Employee Navigator says it connects 195,000+ employers, 7,000+ brokers and 600+ partners. Its pricing page is written for brokers: plans named Enhanced, Enhanced Plus, Elite and Platinum, each with a Contact Sales button.
The only prices on the page are for 834 EDI feeds, the standard file format for sending enrollment data to carriers. Enhanced Plus and Elite list $0.45 PEPM, Platinum lists "Free," and a footnote says additional fees apply. The page does not define PEPM, though it normally means per employee per month. An employer that wants this platform usually reaches it through its broker, so ask the broker which tier it runs and what the employer is charged.
What compliance rules should drive the choice?
The ACA rules set the minimum your software must handle. The IRS says an applicable large employer has 50 or more full-time employees, counts full-time as 30 hours a week or 130 hours a month, and expects coverage offered to at least 95% of full-time employees.
| 2026 ACA figure | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Affordability percentage | 9.96% (2025: 9.02%) | Selerix, ADP SPARK |
| Section 4980H(a) payment | $3,340 (2025: $2,900) | Selerix, ADP SPARK |
| Section 4980H(b) payment | $5,010 (2025: $4,350) | Selerix, ADP SPARK |
| Minimum value | Plan covers at least 60% of total allowed cost | IRS |
Employers can test affordability with one of three IRS safe harbors: W-2 wages, rate of pay, or the federal poverty line. Ask each vendor whether it calculates these automatically, and whether ACA filing is included or an add-on. Penalty amounts are the figures as reported by the two secondary sources above, so confirm against the IRS revenue procedures before budgeting.
What are employers asking for in 2026?
SHRM's 2026 Employee Benefits Survey gives context on the plans you are administering. SHRM released it on 17 June 2026, based on 5,472 responses from HR professionals collected from 28 January to 23 March 2026. The data is unweighted.
Three findings affect administration. Fully insured health plans fell from 70% to 67% of employers while self-insured plans rose from 27% to 29%. Prescription coverage bundled with health insurance fell from 93% to 77%, while third-party pharmacy management programs rose from 18% to 23%. Employer-sponsored AI tool subscriptions rose to 33%, up 17 percentage points from 2025. More carve-outs mean more vendors feeding data into your system, so integration breadth deserves a line in every request for proposal.
What's still unclear?
Four things limit any ranking.
- Switching data. No source shows how many US HR teams have moved vendors or to which ones. Treat any "most popular" claim with suspicion.
- Price. Rippling, ADP and TriNet publish no dollar figures, and Employee Navigator publishes only its 834 EDI feed rate. Comparing total cost needs written quotes with the same employee count, the same plan year and the same scope.
- Carrier coverage. ADP gives a count of more than 900 organizations, Employee Navigator says 600+ partners, and Rippling gives no count. These measure different things and cannot be compared directly.
- Fit by size. The vendors publish different size ranges, and only TriNet states them on its benefits page. Ask each vendor for references at your headcount.
Also, all feature and award claims here come from the vendors. If you are looking at the payroll side of the same decision, see Rippling vs Deel vs Gusto.
Frequently asked questions
What does benefits administration software do?
It runs open enrollment and life-event changes, tracks eligibility and waiting periods, sends enrollment files to insurance carriers, and handles compliance tasks such as COBRA and ACA reporting. Vendors differ on whether they also supply services (a person who handles carrier issues) or only the software.
Do vendors publish benefits administration prices?
Mostly not. As of 13 October 2026, Rippling, ADP and TriNet quote on request. Employee Navigator lists plan names with Contact Sales buttons and shows one price: $0.45 PEPM for 834 EDI feeds on two tiers, with additional fees noted. Budget by requesting written quotes from at least three vendors.
What is the 2026 ACA affordability percentage?
For 2026, coverage is affordable if the employee's self-only contribution does not exceed 9.96% of household income, up from 9.02% in 2025, according to Selerix and ADP. Employers usually test this with one of three IRS safe harbors: W-2 wages, rate of pay, or the federal poverty line.
What is the difference between a PEO and a benefits administration platform?
A PEO such as TriNet's makes the PEO the single-employer plan sponsor, giving small employers access to large-group health plans. A benefits administration platform keeps the employer as plan sponsor and supplies enrollment technology. TriNet offers both: a PEO for 5 to 500 employees and HR Plus for 1 to 500.
Which employers must file ACA forms 1094-C and 1095-C?
Applicable large employers, meaning those with 50 or more full-time employees, according to the IRS. The IRS defines full-time as 30 hours a week or 130 hours a month. Many benefits platforms include ACA tracking and filing, so confirm that is in your quote rather than an add-on.
Sources
- Rippling Benefits Administration, Rippling (2026-10-13)
- Rippling Pricing, Rippling (2026-10-13)
- ADP Benefits Administration, ADP (2026-10-13)
- TriNet Benefits, TriNet (2026-10-13)
- Employee Navigator Pricing, Employee Navigator (2026-10-13)
- Employee Navigator, Employee Navigator (2026-10-13)
- IRS Increases ACA Affordability Threshold for 2026, Selerix (2025-07-24)
- Understanding Health Plans, Year-End ACA Action Items and Employer Mandates for 2025-2026, ADP SPARK (2025-11-01)
- Employer Shared Responsibility Provisions, IRS (2026-08-08)
- Minimum Value and Affordability, IRS (2026-04-01)
- SHRM Research Reveals the Strategic Benefits Shifts Reshaping the Workplace in 2026, SHRM (2026-06-17)