BambooHR vs HiBob vs Rippling: The Best HRMS for a 50-Person Company
BambooHR vs HiBob vs Rippling for a 50-person company: only BambooHR publishes prices ($10-$25 per employee per month). Compare scope, payroll and fit.
For a 50-person company, BambooHR is the easiest of the three to price and the simplest to run, HiBob suits teams with staff in several countries, and Rippling suits companies that want HR, IT and finance on one record. Only BambooHR publishes prices: $10, $17 and $25 per employee per month for Core, Pro and Elite as of 12 October 2026. HiBob and Rippling sell by quote, so any cost comparison between the three rests on estimates until you request quotes.
Prices below are as of 12 October 2026 unless stated. All three vendors describe their own products favorably, so claims are labeled as the vendor's.
How much does each HRMS cost for 50 employees?
BambooHR's published rates work out to about $513 to $1,250 a month for 50 people, before add-ons. HiBob and Rippling do not publish prices, so their figures here are third-party estimates.
BambooHR's pricing FAQ gives starting rates of $10.25 (Core), $17.50 (Pro) and $25 (Elite) per employee per month for companies with more than 25 employees. Volume discounts apply automatically and the schedule is not public. The math at 50 employees: 50 x $10.25 = $512.50, 50 x $17.50 = $875, and 50 x $25 = $1,250 a month. The headline cards on the same page show $10, $17 and $25.
For HiBob, advisor OutSail estimates $16 to $25 per employee per month (published 24 April 2026), which would be $800 to $1,250 a month at 50 employees. OutSail estimates a fully loaded Rippling deployment with payroll, benefits, time and IT management at $35 to $55 or more per employee per month, or $1,750 to $2,750 a month at 50 employees. OutSail does not state where these numbers come from, so use them only to set expectations.
| BambooHR | HiBob | Rippling | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published prices | Yes, three tiers | No, custom quote | No, custom quote |
| List rate (per employee per month) | $10 / $17 / $25 | Not published | Not published |
| Third-party estimate (OutSail, April 2026) | Core $10, Pro $17 | $16 to $25 | $8 base HR module; $35 to $55+ fully loaded |
| 50-employee monthly estimate | $513 / $875 / $1,250 (before discounts, add-ons) | $800 to $1,250 (estimate) | $400 base; $1,750 to $2,750+ fully loaded (estimates) |
| Payroll | Paid add-on, US employees | Add-on module | Separate product |
Where do the vendors' pricing models differ?
BambooHR sells tiers, HiBob sells modules on a Core HR base, and Rippling sells separate products on a required platform. That affects how fast your bill grows.
BambooHR says payroll, benefits administration and time and attendance are add-ons without published prices, with a 15% discount when you bundle Payroll and Benefits Administration with any plan (US employees only). OutSail says these add-ons can understate the real cost by 30 to 50% if you only look at the sticker price.
HiBob says pricing is customized by company size, needs and chosen modules and is generally per employee. Every plan includes Core HR, and its quote form lists optional modules including Performance, Payroll, Hiring, Compensation and Time & Attendance.
Rippling says most products are billed per employee per month, and some may include a monthly base fee. It also describes a core, required Rippling Platform that each HR, Finance and IT product is purchased alongside. Its quote form starts at 1 to 10 employees and contractors, then 11 to 50, then 51 to 250, so a 50-person company sits at the top of one band.
What does each tier or module actually include?
At 50 people, the BambooHR tier you pick decides whether you get performance reviews and compensation tools. BambooHR is the only vendor of the three that publishes a feature-by-tier table.
| BambooHR tier | Adds | Applicant tracking |
|---|---|---|
| Core | Employee records, time off, eNPS survey, reporting | 5 job openings |
| Pro | Performance management (360 review cycles, 1:1s), recognition, 15 compliance courses | 25 job openings |
| Elite | Compensation management with Mercer benchmarks, custom dashboards, HR benchmarks, 300+ courses | 50 job openings |
Source: BambooHR pricing page. If you hire more than five roles at a time, the Core ATS limit matters. BambooHR's built-in recruiting is basic compared with a dedicated applicant tracking system.
HiBob's Core covers the employee database, document management, time off, lifecycle workflows, analytics and a mobile app, per its pricing page. OutSail says HiBob's base subscription also includes more than BambooHR's does, such as time tracking, org charts, workforce planning and engagement surveys. Check that against your quote, since HiBob's own page lists Time & Attendance as a separate module.
Rippling's HRIS page says all employee data lives in one place and updates everywhere automatically. The same page claims 650+ app integrations.
Which one handles payroll best?
Rippling and BambooHR both run US payroll inside the same system as the HR record, and HiBob's US payroll is newer. Which is best depends on whether you have employees outside the US.
BambooHR Payroll is designed to pay US-based employees and covers federal, state and local tax filing, W-2 creation and direct deposit. A Managed Payroll Services option has a BambooHR specialist run payroll while you review and approve. Outside the US, BambooHR points to local payroll integrations (the UK, Australia and New Zealand are named), marketplace partners or its Employer of Record service.
HiBob lists US Payroll and UK Payroll as modules. OutSail says HiBob's native US payroll is powered by Gusto and that payroll is an add-on. Ask HiBob for the current status of US payroll.
Rippling lists Payroll, Global Payroll, Employer of Record and Contractors as products on its site. OutSail credits Rippling with the strongest payroll automation of the three and global payroll in 100+ countries.
If you are comparing standalone payroll providers instead, see Gusto vs ADP vs Paychex: What Each Payroll Tool Publishes on Cost for US Small Businesses.
Which one fits a 50-person company best?
Match the vendor to your hardest problem, not your headcount. All three can serve 50 people, but their stated sweet spots differ.
| If your priority is | Lean toward | Why (source) |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest known cost and simple setup, US workforce | BambooHR | Published prices; OutSail says its sweet spot is 25 to 250 employees and it is the lowest cost of the three |
| Staff in several countries, analytics, engagement | HiBob | OutSail calls it the strongest global HRIS and localization |
| Laptops, app access and HR run by the same two or three people | Rippling | OutSail says it shines when device provisioning, licenses and onboarding are separate processes handled by the same small team |
OutSail's FAQ says Rippling is not necessarily too complex for 50 people, but that it can feel like more platform than you need for basic HR and payroll. OutSail puts HiBob's sweet spot at 100 to 1,500 employees, so a 50-person company is at the small end of its range.
What do vendors say about implementation and ratings?
The only side-by-side figures come from HiBob's own blog, a competitor's marketing page, which sources the BambooHR and Rippling timelines to third-party articles. Treat them as claims. HiBob's comparison, updated 25 September 2026, lists implementation times of 6 to 8 weeks for HiBob, 6 to 12 for BambooHR and 2 to 4 for Rippling.
The same page lists G2 ratings of 4.5 out of 5 for HiBob (2,600+ reviews), 4.4 for BambooHR (6,000+ reviews) and 4.8 for Rippling (13,400+ reviews). Ratings reflect all company sizes, not 50-person buyers, and review volume differs widely. Ask each vendor for references from companies with 40 to 70 employees in your country.
What's still unclear?
The biggest gap is price. HiBob and Rippling do not publish rates, so the HiBob and Rippling numbers above are estimates from one advisor whose data basis is not disclosed. Your quote may differ materially, especially once you add payroll, benefits and time tracking.
Other open questions:
- HiBob US payroll status. HiBob's pricing page lists US Payroll as a module but does not describe its availability or provider.
- Integration counts. OutSail cites 600+ Rippling integrations; Rippling's page says 650+. BambooHR claims 150+. Counts do not tell you whether your specific payroll, ATS or accounting tool is supported.
- Contract terms. BambooHR offers month-to-month or extended terms. HiBob's and Rippling's pages say nothing about contract length, setup fees or minimums.
- Weakest point of this comparison. Two of the main comparison sources are a competitor's blog and an advisory firm, and this comparison cites no independent product evaluation. Run a demo with your own data and payroll calendar before deciding.
Frequently asked questions
Which HRMS is cheapest for 50 employees?
BambooHR is the only one of the three with published prices: $10, $17 and $25 per employee per month on its pricing page as of 12 October 2026. At 50 employees that is roughly $512 to $1,250 a month for the software alone, before volume discounts and paid add-ons. HiBob and Rippling both require a custom quote, so a direct price comparison needs quotes from each.
Does BambooHR include payroll?
No. BambooHR lists Payroll, Benefits Administration and Time & Attendance as add-ons with no published prices. Its payroll product is designed for US-based employees and covers federal, state and local tax filing, according to BambooHR. For payroll outside the US it points to local payroll integrations, marketplace partners or its Employer of Record service.
Is HiBob too big for a 50-person company?
Not necessarily. HiBob's quote form has a 50 to 199 headcount band. Advisor OutSail, however, puts HiBob's sweet spot at 100 to 1,500 employees. HiBob tends to fit best when you have staff in several countries or want people analytics and engagement tools.
What makes Rippling different from BambooHR and HiBob?
Rippling sells HR, IT and finance products on one platform. The company says employee data lives in one place and updates everywhere automatically, and its footer lists identity, device and inventory management products. BambooHR and HiBob focus on HR. That breadth helps if the same people run HR and IT, and adds cost and complexity if you only need HR.
Do these vendors publish implementation times?
Not on the pages reviewed. HiBob's own comparison blog, a competitor's publication, lists 6 to 8 weeks for HiBob, 6 to 12 for BambooHR and 2 to 4 for Rippling. Treat those as a vendor's claims and ask each vendor for a written timeline for your headcount, payroll provider and data cleanup needs.
Sources
- BambooHR Pricing, BambooHR (2026-10-12)
- BambooHR Payroll, BambooHR (2026-10-12)
- HiBob pricing, tailored to your needs, HiBob (2026-10-12)
- Request a free Rippling quote, Rippling (2026-10-12)
- Rippling HRIS, Rippling (2026-10-12)
- BambooHR vs Rippling vs HiBob: Best HRIS for Companies With 50-300 Employees, OutSail (2026-04-24)
- HiBob vs BambooHR vs Rippling: The top choice for 2026, HiBob (2026-09-25)