Paying Contractors in 50 Countries? The Tools That Make It Painless
Pay international contractors with Deel, Remote, Rippling or Wise. List prices run from $29 to $325 per contractor per month as of 12 October 2026.
Four tools cover most needs for paying contractors abroad: Deel, Remote, Rippling and Wise Business. As of 12 October 2026, published list prices run from $29 per contractor per month at Remote to $325 per contractor per month for Contractor of Record tiers. The right pick depends less on price than on one question: who carries the risk if a "contractor" is legally an employee?
Every figure below is the vendor's own claim, taken from its public pages on 12 October 2026. Vendors change prices often, so confirm before you sign.
What are the main ways to pay contractors in other countries?
There are two kinds of tool. Contractor platforms (Deel, Remote, Rippling) bundle a contract, an invoice workflow and a payout. A payments account (Wise Business) moves the money and leaves contracts and classification to you.
For a team paying a handful of people, a payments account may be enough. For an agency paying dozens across many countries, the platform's contract and invoice records usually save more time than the monthly fee costs.
If you run payroll for US staff as well, see our comparison of Gusto, ADP and Paychex costs. It covers domestic payroll only, not contractors abroad.
How much do Deel, Remote, Rippling and Wise cost?
List prices as of 12 October 2026 are in the table. Units differ, so read the last column.
| Tool | Entry price | Higher tiers | Unit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deel | $49 | $325 (Contractor of Record) | per contractor per month |
| Remote | $29 (Contractor Management) | $99 (Plus), from $325 (Contractor of Record) | per contractor per month |
| Rippling | From $30 (Global Contractors) | Not stated | per month (unit not stated) |
| Wise Business | No per-contractor fee | Transfer fee from 0.23% | per transfer |
Two cautions. Rippling's page does not say whether its $30 is per contractor or per account, so ask. Remote says its $29 applies when contractors perform billable activities such as invoicing, contract signing or receiving payments, so an idle contractor may not cost you.
What does each tool say about countries and currencies?
Each vendor publishes different counts, and they measure different things. Treat them as marketing claims, not audited coverage.
| Tool | Countries claimed | Currencies claimed |
|---|---|---|
| Deel | No contractor-specific count on its pricing page (the page cites 150+ countries generally) | Payments in 120+ currencies |
| Remote | 200+ countries and jurisdictions for payouts; over 170 for onboarding | 70+ currencies for payouts |
| Rippling | 185+ countries | 50+ currencies |
| Wise Business | 140+ countries for sending | 40+ currencies held and managed; 22 currencies for receiving account details |
Remote's own page gives two country numbers (200+ and 170), so the safe reading is "well over 50 countries" rather than a precise count. For any specific corridor, ask the vendor whether it pays out there today.
What fees come on top of the monthly price?
Fees beyond the subscription are where the vendors differ most. Remote is the most specific: it states a 3.5% service fee on credit card payments and says its payment partner may charge contractors 1-2% for currency conversion. It also says there are no platform, onboarding or setup fees for contractor management.
Wise publishes a transfer fee from 0.23%, varying by currency, and says spending over 25,000 USD (or equivalent) on conversions earns a volume discount. It lists a 31 USD fee for getting account details to receive in 22 currencies. Its blog says the account has no monthly fees for US businesses, and the two pages do not spell out how those statements fit together. Wise also says BatchTransfer is free with a Wise Business account and pays up to 1000 invoices in one go.
Deel's pricing page says only that it offers competitive exchange rates with minimal fees, with no figure. Rippling's page gives no payment or FX fees either. If you pay many contractors, the FX margin can outweigh the subscription, so request a written quote for your top three corridors.
Does a payment tool remove misclassification risk?
Not by itself. The US Department of Labor says misclassification occurs when an employer treats a worker who is an employee under the FLSA as an independent contractor and that employers are responsible for determining the worker's status. The DOL page describes US federal law. Rules in the contractor's own country can differ, so classification is a legal question, not a software setting.
What vendors sell here is a transfer of some of that risk:
- Deel: its card says you can classify contractors yourself, or shift liability to Deel with Contractor of Record at $325 per contractor of record per month. It also lists "worker classification compliance" without saying which tier includes it.
- Remote: the Plus plan at $99 lists coverage up to $100,000 per contractor for penalties. Contractor of Record, from $325, lists uncapped indemnity.
- Rippling and Wise: neither page reviewed describes indemnity or liability transfer.
Indemnity is a company promise, not a legal ruling. Read the contract for exclusions, covered countries and claim procedures.
What tax paperwork applies to contractors outside the US?
For a US payer, the IRS gives two useful anchors. A nonresident alien is generally subject to US income tax only on income from US sources, and for personal services the IRS source rule is where the services are performed. The foreign contractor, in turn, gives Form W-8BEN to the payer when the payer requests it.
Deel lists "tax form guidance & document collection" on its contractor card. That helps with collection, but it is not tax advice. If your agency is outside the US, or you pay contractors in a country with withholding rules, local advice matters more than any platform checklist.
Which tool fits which kind of team?
Use this as a starting rule, not a ranking. Vendors were compared only on what they publish.
| Situation | Worth shortlisting | Why |
|---|---|---|
| A few contractors, you already classify them | Wise Business or Remote Contractor Management | Lowest published entry cost ($29 per contractor, or per-transfer fees) |
| Many contractors, need contracts and invoices in one place | Deel, Remote, Rippling | Contract and invoice workflow included |
| Contractors who work like employees | Contractor of Record tiers (Deel, Remote) | Vendor takes on liability, from $325 per contractor per month |
| Already using Rippling for HR | Rippling Global Contractors | Fits an existing system, but pricing unit is unclear |
If you are still choosing HR software for a small team, our guide to free HRMS options for small businesses may help before you add a paid contractor layer.
What's still unclear?
Several points depend on information the vendors have not published, or on facts that conflict.
- Remote's Plus indemnity: the pricing page lists coverage up to $100,000 per contractor, while the contractor management page's body text says up to $1 million. Ask Remote which applies.
- Rippling's unit price: "From $30 per month" does not say per contractor or per account.
- Deel and Rippling FX costs: neither states a payment or FX fee figure, so true cost per payout is unknown without a quote.
- Wise's 31 USD fee: the pricing page lists it for receiving account details, and the blog says no monthly fees. They may be consistent, but they are not reconciled in the text.
- Country counts: all of them are self-reported and measure different things (onboarding, payouts, sending).
- Weakest point of this comparison: list prices are the starting point. Negotiated pricing, volume discounts and corridor-specific FX margins can change the order of the cheapest options.
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest way to pay international contractors?
On published list prices as of 12 October 2026, Remote's Contractor Management plan at $29 per contractor per month and Rippling's Global Contractors from $30 per month are the lowest platform prices. Wise Business has no per-contractor fee but charges transfers from 0.23%. Total cost depends on FX, funding method and how many contractors are active each month.
Does a payment platform protect me from contractor misclassification?
Only the tiers that say so. Deel says its Contractor of Record tier shifts liability to Deel. Remote lists indemnity on its Plus plan and uncapped indemnity on Contractor of Record. A basic payment tier does not change the legal status of the worker, and the US Department of Labor says employers are responsible for determining it.
Do I need a tax form from a contractor outside the US?
The IRS says a foreign person gives Form W-8BEN to the payer when the payer requests it. Whether you must request it, and what you must file, depends on where the work is performed and your own tax position. Ask your tax adviser, and check the IRS pages on Form W-8BEN and Form 1042-S.
Can I pay contractors in their local currency?
Yes, on all four tools. Deel lists payments in 120+ currencies, Remote lists payouts in 70+ currencies, Rippling lists 50+ currencies, and Wise Business lets you hold and manage funds in 40+ currencies. Each vendor makes these claims about itself, and the corridor you need may differ.
What fees apply besides the monthly price?
It varies. Remote publishes a 3.5% service fee on credit card payments and says its payment partner may charge contractors 1-2% for currency conversion. Wise publishes transfer fees from 0.23%. Deel and Rippling do not state payment or FX fee figures on the pages reviewed, so ask for a quote for your corridors.
Is a Contractor of Record the same as an Employer of Record?
No. Deel and Remote both sell Contractor of Record as a separate tier priced per contractor, from $325 per month on both vendors' pages. An Employer of Record employs the worker on your behalf, and Deel prices that separately at $599 per employee per month as of 12 October 2026.
Sources
- Deel Pricing, Deel (2026-10-12)
- Remote Pricing, Remote (2026-10-12)
- Remote Contractor Management, Remote (2026-10-12)
- Hire and Pay Contractors Across 185+ Countries, Rippling (2026-10-12)
- Wise Business pricing, Wise (2026-10-12)
- How to Pay International Contractors: 5 Best Ways, Wise (2026-06-19)
- Nonresident aliens: sourcing of income, Internal Revenue Service (2026-08-18)
- About Form W-8 BEN, Internal Revenue Service (2026-10-02)
- Misclassification, US Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division (2026-10-12)